Formalities Excluded

Dear poetry,

For a minute I had lost my way.

I had placed you on a shelf and 

you just asked por que?

 

We’ve been together since I was a young boy,

inseparable like conjoined twins

you give me so much joy…

 

As cliché as it seems I’m back. Not necessarily better than ever, but inside of me there’s a new light and you’re the reason I beam.

 

The spiteful “I” was glad that while I was gone nobody came alone and managed to get in between you and I by damaging what we both know and feel is so strong.

 

For that I’m grateful.

 

But I won’t lie I would’ve been mad if someone had exerted dominance over you like an over-bearing stepdad.

 

I’m such a hypocrite.

 

Toss you aside while new acquaintances occupy my present mind, but if you ever chose to leave me I’d get defensive with my pride.

 

It’s not that I don’t think of you.

 

If I ever had to prove to you that I love you I’d never deny it.

Shit I relish at the opportunity for you to see the antagonism that’s been berating me, ailing me, keeping my thoughts from fleeting to thee, mentally impaling me.

 

But I know it’s just excuses.

 

So to put it short, I’m here for you my dear. 

 

I’m re-opening myself to you in an attempt to make it clear that if you ever feel forsaken I’ll be the first to shed a tear.

If you ever feel deserted then you can damn sure be for certain that I’ll recapture that magic and reveal you behind the curtain.

 

Afterall, I’m here to stay.

 

For a minute I had lost my way.

I had placed you on a shelf and 

you just asked por que?

 

We’ve been together since I was a young boy,

inseparable like conjoined twins

you give me so much joy…

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

